Are you LinkedIn?

*Please note that this post was originally posted on April 4th, 2011

I have been learning a lot recently about the importance of having an online presence, and I must say that while I have had a Facebook account for years, and a blog for over a year as well, I never gave too much thought about my online presence in a professional way. That could be because up to this point I haven’t actually been seeking to step outside of my little comfort zone and actively use my skills for more than volunteer work. However, my past years of volunteer work have helped me out in so many ways. I have done transcribing, writing, and editing, and gained so much experience. So now that I am ready to do more with my skills and am learning about the importance of having an online presence, I am ready to do what it takes. I started by creating this blog, and today I signed up for LinkedIn.
My question to you is, how many of you use LinkedIn? I’m still learning my way around, but I think I’m getting the hang of it. There are so many social media networking sites these days that it can get pretty overwhelming. I don’t recommend going crazy and signing up for all of them at once. In fact, I don’t recommend signing up for a new one until you have learned your way around the first one. Twitter is probably next on my list, but not until I get the hang of LinkedIn. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

You can view my LinkedIn profile by clicking here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tools for Authors

What do you think?

