Mock interview

While I was over at ‘The Write Practice‘ today, their post about interviewing people had a great practice challenge. They suggested that we interview our imaginary friend, Tommy (you can read the full post and challenge here). They gave us 3 questions to use. So without further ado, let me introduce my dear friend Tommy:

1. Thank you so much for joining us today, Tommy. Can you start off by telling us what it is that you do? What do you like about it, and what don’t you like about it?

Certainly, and thanks for featuring me on your blog today. I am an editor for self published authors. I work on an individual basis with each author to create the perfect editing process for their book. I do everything from copy editing to ghost writing.

My favorite part about what I do is seeing authors succeed. There is nothing quite like the feel of getting that excited e-mail from the author letting me know that their work is out there, and getting great reviews.

As far as something that I don’t like? I would have to say getting books that aren’t fit to read. Please don’t take that the wrong way, I think that every book has potential. I don’t like the books that are so filled with bad language that you can’t find the good content. My number one piece of advice to aspiring writers is to leave the curse words out. You look more professional and open your book up to hundreds of potential new readers that won’t touch books with foul language.

2. Thanks, Tommy, I’ll be sure to remember that advice. If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

To be quite honest, I love what I do. I have always dreamed about working at a major publisher, Harvest House to be exact. However, going to work there would take away the opportunity to help the authors that I work with now. When you work at a publishing company you don’t get as many first time authors that you get to help through the process, and I love the attitudes of first time authors. The only way I can describe it would be like the building anticipation that a child has as Christmas draws near. I don’t work with authors face to face very often, but I can just picture the twinkle in their eye.

3. I’m so happy you have found your dream job, Tommy! Can we wrap this up by you telling us what you would do if you lived in the Middle Ages?

The Middle Ages? Oh my, I don’t know much about the Middle Ages, so I’ll say that I would want to be a knight.

_____________________________________________________________

Those aren’t the normal questions that I would ask in an interview, but those were what they asked for over at The Write Practice. I must admit that while most of the responses that they got about interviewing people for your blog said to do the interviews in person or via telephone, I always do my interviews via e-mail. It saves time for both parties. You can e-mail it as soon as you finish compiling your questions, and they can get to it whenever they have time, and send it back to you. I have found that more people are willing to agree to interviews if they don’t have to block out a certain amount of time on their schedule. Something that might take an hour to do in person, not counting drive time, can be done in a matter of minutes. It also provides them time to think through their answers carefully. They can word (and reword) their response so that it’s exactly what they want it to say. It also makes it easier on me, of course. I just have to copy their answers into my blog.

What about you? Do you interview authors for your blog? Do you prefer e-mail interviews or face-to-face?

*If you are interested in doing an interview here on my blog, please leave a comment or send me an e-mail: heather.hart@ymail.com

7 Comments

Filed under General

7 responses to “Mock interview

  1. I am often to running a blog and i actually admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and preserve checking for brand spanking new information.

  2. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I am experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don?t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss downside? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  3. I am having issues with the RSS. I’ve tried it several different ways, and I am probably just going to take it off. Sorry for the difficulties.

  4. I am often to running a blog and i really respect your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and maintain checking for new information.

  5. I used to be very happy to seek out this web-site.I wished to thanks on your time for this wonderful learn!! I undoubtedly enjoying each little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

What do you think?

