Writing tunes

What kind of music do you listen to when you write? 

This was one of the questions asked last year on one of the NaNo forums. At the time, I didn’t really listen to music when I wrote. Of course, I also didn’t have a writing schedule back then, or really any kind of structure or preferences when it came to writing. I wrote when I could fit it into life as a homeschooling mom with 4 children, 6 pets, and a house to clean. I still live life in those circumstances, but I now have more structure when it comes to writing and editing. I have an office in my home, and a writing schedule. However, just having a writing schedule doesn’t guarantee that any actual work will be completed (I do still have 4 children after all). I was reading a blog post earlier about how to ensure that writing gets done each day, and one of the things mentioned in passing was turning on music. The simplicity of slipping on headphones and drowning out the chaos around me had somehow never occurred to me. I have asked my kids not to bother me when I’m working, but when they are sitting outside my office pretending to be lions, it’s still a bit distracting. Headphones could remedy this for me, but now I am left with the dilemma of what kind of music to listen to.

I started out with classical, because that is what I listen to when I read. It has no words to distract my concentration, however it also didn’t help me concentrate… at all. It might have well not been on at all. In fact, it actually annoyed me more than anything else.

Next, I put in a soundtrack from an old movie that I use to love in high school. I’m not sure that it was the best choice either, but it’s fun to listen to…

All of this, has brought me back to last year’s NaNoWriMo question. So I ask you, what kind of music do you listen to while you write?

Leave a comment

Filed under General

What do you think?

