What kind of computer do you use?

When my writing started to pick up a few years back, I knew that I needed a laptop. There were so many times that I would be away from home and have an idea. I was going through tons of notebooks, and having to type up things that I had previously written at home. So I went on a search for the perfect laptop.

After looking at several, I decided on a netbook. I mainly made this decision because, at the time, I did a lot of writing in my van. I would write when I waited for the boys to get out of school, I would write while I waited for my husband to run into a store or office while my kids slept in the back seat, I just wrote wherever I was. I needed something small and easy to carry. Having my netbook allowed me to write wherever I wanted. In the driver’s seat, it fit between me and the steering wheel, I could take it to the park, and I could write at the kitchen table. I loved it!

Now that I do more than just writing, I’m not loving it so much. Netbooks have smaller screens than regular computers. There are some websites that assume that they will fit in your page and do not offer scroll bars, and even some that have pop-up windows that the close button doesn’t show on the smaller screen (meaning that you have to close your internet window to get it to go away). When I started doing research, that was a huge problem.

I now have both my netbook, and a desktop. My desktop computer has such a nice large screen, and I am able to see more of my documents, and websites. It’s also easier to have two documents open on it and view them both at the same time.

However, I often use both. When I am editing I can have the original document open on one computer, and keep my notes on the other. When doing things this way, I must admit that I have become very dependent on Dropbox. I could of course e-mail myself documents, or put them on my flash drive to transfer them, but Dropbox makes things so much simpler.

Back to my original question: As an author (or editor) what kind of computer do you prefer?

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “What kind of computer do you use?

  1. It?s hard to find educated individuals on this subject, however you sound like you know what you?re talking about! Thanks

    • It’s taken a while! My mom has a regular size laptop and it’s just so big and bulky that I never even considered it. She complains about how heavy it is and how hard it is to tote around.

      Thanks for stopping by!

What do you think?

