Volunteer openings

If you are looking for some volunteer work, or even just to build your resume, I highly encourage you to look at the openings over At the Well. They are looking for volunteers for several positions.

If you have never done volunteer work, I can not tell you how great it can be. I would not be where I am today if it weren’t for volunteer work. Several years ago, I signed up for two different websites as a volunteer. One of the websites was FindYourTrueBeauty.com, where I signed up to help respond to teen girls questions, and posts. The other site was Circle of Moms, where I was the administrator of their Christian Mommies community. Well, one day one of my Christian Mommies asked about devotions for teen girls. I knew of this fabulous website for teen girls, but I wasn’t sure if it offered devotions. So I asked. Shelley asked me if I could help her add devotions to the website, and I have been writing and editing devotions for teen girls ever since. We have one published book, and are compiling our second one.

Through volunteering on that website, I have been hired to do some other work for Shelley, and by people who I have been introduced to through her. In fact, if it weren’t for volunteer work, I wouldn’t have a blog, I would have never edited, or published any work. Everything I have done has been brought on through my volunteer work (even though not all of my work has been volunteer work).

Volunteering gets you out there, it gets you experience, and it gives you contacts. You can meet some fabulous people, help others out, and build your resume at the same time. If you have never done any volunteer work, I highly recommend it, and if you have, I just want to take a moment to thank you. There are so many fabulous websites and ministries that exist, just because someone is willing to volunteer.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

What do you think?

